Color and…

by fjeimages


Good morning from Los Angeles!….It has been (a long!) while I know, so I want to get right on it and celebrate two things that I have been working on lately: color and lo-fi. By color I mean the way I see color, sometimes pushing those values to bring out the spirit of a capture. But careful….are you helping the shot? does it really need to turn from blue into emerald-green to go to the next level? As artists only we can only be the judges of that and ultimately do what has been done for millennia, follow your instincts. Maybe it’s my Tarantino influence but sometimes reds aren’t red enough and you have to do something about it; and at the end of the day….why not?!  And by lo-fi I mean the ever-present and wonderful challenge of working with restricted or available means, in my case my cell phone. By restricted means I don’t only mean ‘less’, just having or using different advantages. I will never stop admiring people who do great things with few resources; there is an inherent quality and a direct relationship between the struggle that comes from working with less-than-ideal-and-what-is-available and the all around test to capture the same quality of spirit with abundant resources. To me is every artist must practice the art of doing with less, often. Can you make a purse out of a simple square piece of leather, can you take a photograph using heat and thermal paper; how far can (and must) the boundaries be pushed to achieve the kind of simple design that not only contains the essence but creates that emotional connection.

Below I have chosen works captured in and around Paris, but keep an eye for some LA stuff coming up. If anything this city can offer color, so add some to your life and drop me a message if you feel like it.

 

BNF, Paris…(Nikon D300)

ClorBNF

La Défense, France…(via iPhone5)

ColorIphone

Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris…(via iPhone5)

Escalator

 

Thank you for your views, visits, comments and ideas!

Julian

p.s. All material is copyrighted

 

 

