Of Volumes and Glass…

by fjeimages


Good morning!!…Two photographs I recently took have captured my heart……..and I don’t mean to say that my own work captures my heart, but as I always thrive to keep things simple, I think I achieved just that here. And therefore….yes, I am pleased. The first is of an 18 story building – a straight up looking view against one of the bottom glass panels, and my intention was to capture the ethereal quality of the scene. The day was right, the sun was there, no clouds to distract. I was ready to put my eye on the X. A friend and colleague of mine said of this same capture (and I think it serves to illustrate what I saw): “It’s like a hall of mirrors, where you don’t know which way is the right way up. The range of blues in this is stunning, particularly to the right of the image, it’s resoundingly Phantom of the Operaish in a way…the phantom historically created mirror traps…and this reminds me of it.”…..I love it when images evoke thoughts of this nature, and stir imagination. The second image is again, a very simple study of volumes and yes, again, glass is involved. In this case I had to resort to a black and white monochrome to make the said volumes stand out. I trust it worked…..yet you are the ultimate judge of that. Please enjoy!

After the flight…

CornerBNF3

Volumes at noon…

CitroenParkBW

Thank you for visiting!~

Julian

note: All rights reserved ©

