Books n’such…

by fjeimages


Good morning!!…I had the pleasure of visiting the famous Bibliothèque Nationale de France Site François-Mitterrand recently and took a couple of photographs to [at least] try and mark the spot. Lets agree that nothing that can be taken can do justice to four magnificent buildings (18 floors each) placed square in a great big esplanade……enough public space to chill and housing for the largest collection of books in Europe. I first want to say that I am grateful for the permission I was granted to come in and shoot on an ‘off’ day. And rightfully so I want to make full disclosure and say that even though the photography is entirely mine I am aware and acknowledge that the rights of the same are those of the BNF (Bibliothèque nationale de France, Dominique Parrault, Architecte / ©ADAGP, Paris 2013).

Having said that I have to say that access to public buildings in Paris has been fantastic, and much more efficient and friendly than in other parts of the world. Rules are rules and I always observe them of course – it is not only the right thing to do but the most secure and logical in this day and age. However, us/we photographers have to know our rights too and not always cede if we are pursuing artistic or informative images. The best thing is generally to approach the place you are planning to photograph and be polite, yet get passed the usual suspects like basic security guards who will always say no just in case (not always however, in the interest of disclosure I have met some great and very knowledgeable guys and ladies in security positions).

On the move…

Escalator BNF

Fly with me…

BNFreflection

These two photographs intend to capture the dynamic architecture of the place…..but by all means do not do justice to the whole which I invite you to imagine or research via the links I provided. I had a great time and again ty and ty to Mme Sylvie S. from Production photo – photothèque – Délégation à la communication BNF.

Thank you for your continued support and visits as always.

Julian

note: all images ©

